Cancer Trials

With a robust network of dedicated faculty, students and postdoctoral scholars, the Department of Health Behavior and Policy is proud to conduct innovative research that identifies and addresses the behavioral, social, organizational and policy factors that affect the health of individuals and populations.

Through quantitative and qualitative methods, community engagement, clinical trials and policy analysis, we aim to contribute to systemic changes that promote health and improve health care delivery. The department’s diverse portfolio is a reflection of this team, and our multidisciplinary research environment fosters curiosity and collaboration across a broad spectrum of areas of interest.

Research Areas

Research Faculty

Andrew J. Barnes, Ph.D.

Andrew J. Barnes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Andrew J. Barnes, Ph.D.

Andrew J. Barnes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: andrew.barnes@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Peter J. Cunningham, Ph.D.

Peter J. Cunningham, Ph.D.

Professor

Peter J. Cunningham, Ph.D.

Peter J. Cunningham, Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: peter.cunningham@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Bernard F. Fuemmeler, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Bernard F. Fuemmeler, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Professor

Bernard F. Fuemmeler, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Bernard F. Fuemmeler, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: bernard.fuemmeler@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Anika L. Hines, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Anika L. Hines, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Assistant Professor

Anika L. Hines, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Anika L. Hines, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Assistant Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: anika.hines@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

April D. Kimmel, Ph.D.

April D. Kimmel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

April D. Kimmel, Ph.D.

April D. Kimmel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: april.kimmel@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Jessica G. LaRose, Ph.D., M.S.

Jessica G. LaRose, Ph.D., M.S.

Associate Professor

Jessica G. LaRose, Ph.D., M.S.

Jessica G. LaRose, Ph.D., M.S.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: jessca.larose@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D., M.A.

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D., M.A.

Associate Professor

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D., M.A.

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D., M.A.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: maghboeba.mosavel@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.

Professor

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: vanessa.sheppard@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Maria D. Thomson, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Maria D. Thomson, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Associate Professor

Maria D. Thomson, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Maria D. Thomson, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: maria.thomson@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Richard F. Brown, Ph.D.

Richard F. Brown, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Richard F. Brown, Ph.D.

Richard F. Brown, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: richard.brown@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Kellie E. Carlyle, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Kellie E. Carlyle, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Associate Professor

Kellie E. Carlyle, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Kellie E. Carlyle, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: kellie.carlyle@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Askar S. Chukmaitov, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.A.

Askar S. Chukmaitov, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.A.

Associate Professor

Askar S. Chukmaitov, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.A.

Askar S. Chukmaitov, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.A.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: askar.chukmaitov@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Bassam A. Dahman, Ph.D.

Bassam A. Dahman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Bassam A. Dahman, Ph.D.

Bassam A. Dahman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: bassam.dahman@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Dina T. Garcia, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Dina T. Garcia, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Assistant Professor

Dina T. Garcia, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Dina T. Garcia, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Assistant Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: dina.garcia@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Alexander R. Lucas, Ph.D., M.S.

Alexander R. Lucas, Ph.D., M.S.

Instructor

Alexander R. Lucas, Ph.D., M.S.

Alexander R. Lucas, Ph.D., M.S.

Instructor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: alexander.lucas@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Michael A. Preston, Ph.D., M.P.H

Michael A. Preston, Ph.D., M.P.H

Assistant Professor

Michael A. Preston, Ph.D., M.P.H

Michael A. Preston, Ph.D., M.P.H

Assistant Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: michael.preston@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Katherine Y. Tossas, Ph.D., M.S.

Katherine Y. Tossas, Ph.D., M.S.

Assistant Professor

Katherine Y. Tossas, Ph.D., M.S.

Katherine Y. Tossas, Ph.D., M.S.

Assistant Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: katherine.tossas@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Sun Jung “Sunny” Kim, Ph.D., M.S., M.A.

Sun Jung “Sunny” Kim, Ph.D., M.S., M.A.

Assistant Professor

Sun Jung “Sunny” Kim, Ph.D., M.S., M.A.

Sun Jung “Sunny” Kim, Ph.D., M.S., M.A.

Assistant Professor

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: sun.jung.kim@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Research Staff

Rose Bono, M.P.H.

Rose Bono, M.P.H.

Project Coordinator

Rose Bono, M.P.H.

Rose Bono, M.P.H.

Project Coordinator

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Phone: 804-628-3122

Email: bonors@vcu.edu

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Program Manager

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.

Program Manager

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Program Manager, Community Health Education & Research

Phone: 804-628-2364

Email: debbie.cadet@vcuhealth.org

Abigail Mariani, M.P.H.

Abigail Mariani, M.P.H.

Research Coordinator

Abigail Mariani, M.P.H.

Abigail Mariani, M.P.H.

Research Coordinator

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Phone: 804-221-1857

Email: abigail.cadua@vcuhealth.org

Yvonne Cummings

Yvonne Cummings

Clinical Research Manager

Yvonne Cummings

Yvonne Cummings

Clinical Research Manager

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: Yvonne.Cummings@vcuhealth.org

Yangyang Deng

Yangyang Deng

SAS Progr/Data Analyst

Yangyang Deng

Yangyang Deng

SAS Progr/Data Analyst

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Phone: 804-628-5739

Email: dengy4@vcu.edu

Lauren Guerra

Lauren Guerra

Research Assistant

Lauren Guerra

Lauren Guerra

Research Assistant

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: lauren.guerra@vcuhealth.org

Jaime Lawson

Jaime Lawson

Research Assistant

Jaime Lawson

Jaime Lawson

Research Assistant

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Matthew Wells, M.S.

Matthew Wells, M.S.

Clinical Research Assistant

Matthew Wells, M.S.

Matthew Wells, M.S.

Clinical Research Assistant

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Phone: 804-828-6335

Email: matthew.wells@vcuhealth.org

Xue Zhao

Xue Zhao

Health Data Analyst

Xue Zhao

Xue Zhao

Health Data Analyst

Department of Health Behavior and Policy

Email: zhaox8@vcu.edu